Next NPGS Meeting

NPGS Does not meet during the months of June, July and August. There may be a “get together” during the summer so check back periodically for details.

When: Wednesday, September 21, 2016 at 7:00 pm

Where: North Platte Public Library (120 W 4th ST, North Platte NE)

Program: Learning About FamilySearch

Next Meeting: Wednesday, September 21, 2016 at 7:00 pm

2016 NPGS Meetings & Programs Brochure


Posted in Events | Tagged | Leave a comment

Next Study Group Meeting

When: Tuesday, September 13, 2016 at 6:30-8:30 pm 

Where: North Platte Public Library – Meeting Room

Discussion Topic: Land, Laws, and Genealogy

Bring your own beverage (no alcohol) and cookies will be provided. Bring a guest or invite someone to join us. There’s plenty of room! Mark your calendars!!

2016 NPGS Meetings & Programs Brochure

Posted in Events | Tagged | Leave a comment

2016 Meetings & Programs Schedule

2016 NPGS Meetings & Programs Brochure

Study Group
6:30 pm
NP Public Library


Wed January 13, 2016 How to REALLY Use Ancestry
Tues February 2, 2016 Everything about the Census
Wed March 9, 2016 Billy Yannk & Johnny Reb (Civil War)
Wed April 6, 2016 Evaluating Genealogical Evidence
Tues May 10, 2016 The Census Between
June – July – August 2016 NO Study Group
Tues September 13, 2016 Land, Laws and Genealogy
Wed October 5, 2016 Records of the Revolutionary War
Wed November 2, 2016 Faith of our Ancestors (Church Records)
December 2016 NO Study Group
NPGS Meeting
7:00 pm
NP Public Library


Wed January 20, 2016 Moments in Genealogy
Wed February 17, 2016 Using HeritageQuest Online
Wed March 16, 2016 New England Research – Gloria Presnall
Wed April 20, 2016 Gravestones Have Stories to Tell – Cheri Hopkins
Wed May 18, 2016 Japanese Emigrants in Nebraska – Steve Kay
June – July – August 2016 NO Meeting | Picnic in July TBA
Wed September 21, 2016 Learning about FamilySearch
Wed October 19, 2016 We have Books and We have Film
Wed November 16, 2016 Social Media for Genealogists
December 2016 NO Meeting | Holiday Brunch – TBA
Posted in Events | Leave a comment

Genealogy Learning Class

sponsored by
North Platte Genealogical Society

presented by
Ruby Coleman, President, Nebraska State Genealogical Society

Wednesday, February 25, 2015
5:30 – 6:30 pm: In the Beginning…Your Family Tree
7:00 – 8:00 pm: Internet for Genealogists

North Platte Public Library (120 W 4th ST) – Meeting Room

Cost: $20.00 per person includes syllabus, drawing and handouts

Limited space available. Please pre-register by calling 308-534-1940.

The classes are for beginners or people who have been doing genealogy for a while. Learn about how to locate genealogical information, and in particular what is available on Internet. Take the plunge and learn how to find your ancestors.

Bring a sack lunch/snack, if desired. Coffee and water will be provided.

WIFI available. Bring your laptop or tablet.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment